Music Information Retrieval



As the size of digital repositories of both music scores and recordings grows, to effectively search, process and analyse their musical contents requires a new systematic approach and application of advanced quantitative methods.

The aim of MIR Working Group is to develop and implement state-of-the-art music information retrieval (MIR) tools for large-scale cross-disciplinary research in the fields of musicology and ethnomusicology.

The group’s efforts will focus specifically on developing a dedicated digital platform which integrates MIR tools with a number of repository-based functionalities in order to facilitate advanced interdisciplinary studies on Polish traditional music.

By building a dedicated research platform, the MIR group wants to address several pressing issues such as:
— preserving traditional music heritage via digitalisation, processing and providing research access to sound archives of traditional music
— expanding the existing collections with new field recordings captured using novel recording techniques and equipment
— incorporating Polish music transcription resources into European traditional music heritage

Main research corpora:
1. Digital sound archives of the Institute of Art, Polish Academy of Sciences
(analog recordings of authentic Polish traditional music including vocal, instrumental and vocal-instrumental recordings captured since 1945, which has been systematically digitised)
2. Historical written scores of Polish folk music
— around 20 000 melodies documented in Oskar Kolberg’s The Complete Works, stretching back to the 19th century
— around 5000 manual transcripts of post-war recordings, written in a dedicated alpha-numeric format (EsAC)


  • Institute of Art, Polish Academy of Sciences (IS PAN)
  • Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań (UAM)
  • Poznan Supercomputing and Networking Center (PCSS)
  • Institute of Computing Science, Poznan University of Technology (II PP)


  • Group coordinator: Ewa Dahlig-Turek, Professor (IS PAN)
  • Advisory committee: Cezary Mazurek, PhD (PCSS)
  • Collaborators:
  • Magdalena Chudy, PhD (IS PAN)
  • Ewa Kuśmierek, PhD (PCSS)
  • Ewa Łukasik, PhD (II PP)
  • Robert Cecko, MEng (PCSS)
  • Michał Kozak, PhD (PCSS)
  • Mariusz Owsianny, MSc (PCSS)
  • Tomasz Parkoła, MEng (PCSS)
  • Marcin Werla, MEng (PCSS)



dr hab. Ewa Dahlig-Turek
Institute of Art, Polish Academy of Sciences
ul. Długa 26/28, skr. poczt. 994
00-950 Warszawa